Douglas E. Schwartz, Esq.
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
Thank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart
|Posted on May 28, 2015 at 8:01 PM||comments (20)|
The hot weather is here already and whether you're headed up to lakes and mountains, or heading 'down the shore,' don't forget to use those seat belts and car seats! And pet restraints, too!
Most of you are likely aware of New Jersey's seat belt law, N.J.S.A. 39:3-76.2f, which requires the use of a seatbelt by occupants of all passenger vehicles, which includes vans, pick-up trucks, and sport-utility vehicles. Any passenger, at least 8 years old but less than 18 years old, as well as the driver and front seat passenger must wear that seatbelt! This statute was amended in 2010 to allow police to issue tickets to unbuckled back seat occupants who are 18 years old or older.
Kids? Those up to 8 years old or 80 pounds must ride in a safety or booster seat in the rear of the vehicle. No front seat? Then the child must sit in the front seat secured by a child safety seat or booster seat. If the child is 8-18 years old, he or she has to wear the seat belt anywhere in the vehicle.
It is worth reminding here that these seatbelt laws, which are clearly beneficial to the public, are considered secondary offenses. See N.J.S.A. 39:3-76.2n. Translation: you can only be cited for a seatbelt violation once you have been pulled over for some other suspected motor vehicle violation.
And those of you with pets? Keep in mind that N.J.S.A. 4:22-17 provides penalties for animal cruelty. Further, N.J.S.A. 4:22-18 addresses "a person who shall carry, or cause to be carried, a living animal or creature in or upon a vehicle or otherwise, in a cruel or inhumane manner, shall be guilty of a disorderly persons offense...." (That's a $250-$1,000.00 fine and no more than 6 months in jail). And that's only for a first offense. [Please see the full statute for additional penalties for repeat offenders].
So use those seat belts, get the proper child or pet restraint, and enjoy safe travels.
My best to all for the upcoming Summer.
|Posted on September 9, 2013 at 12:53 PM||comments (1)|
We all know that texting and driving is a bad idea. You are also likely aware that use of a handheld cell-phone to either talk to someone or to text while you are operating the vehicle is against the law. Under our motor vehicle laws, it is illegal to use a cell phone that is not "hands-free" while driving, except in certain specifically described emergency situations. See N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.3.
However, a recent opinion of the Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division, has articulated that the sender of a text may have legal liability to an injured party if the driver of a motor vehicle reads the text and, as a result of the distraction, becomes involved in a motor vehicle accident.
The Court did not hold that someone texting to the driver of a motor vehicle was liable for that person's negligent actions and the court specifically noted that the driver bears responsibility for obeying the law and maintaining safe control of the vehicle.
However, In Kubert v. Best, A-1128-12T4 (decided August 27, 2013), the court did find that when a texter knows or has special reason to know that the intended recipient is driving and likely to read the text message while driving, the texter has a duty to users of the public roads to refrain from sending the driver a text at that time.
A link to the unpublished edition of the case is set forth here at:
I will keep you posted as to future developments in this matter. In the meantime, if you know that someone is driving, it's an excellent idea not to send that text!
|Posted on May 31, 2013 at 1:16 PM||comments (0)|
Greetings...welcome to my new blog page, where I hope to keep you advised of recent developments in the law and how they can affect you.
$1-A- DAY INSURANCE POLICIES (SPECIAL INSURANCE POLICIES): Yes, citizens of this state (NJ) can get insurance policies for $1.00 a day if they are Medicaid eligible. Those policies will only provide emergency medical coverage and liability coverage for property damage. Should someone make a claim against that person for a bodily injury claim, there will be no coverage available, making the insured personally liable. Persons injured as a result of the negligence of a person covered under a $1-A-Day policy must present claims for "Underinsured Motorists Benefits" to their own automobile insurance carrier.
BASIC INSURANCE POLICIES: Insurance companies are now permitted to offer a virtual buffet of insurance options related to medical, liability and uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage these days. Most of these options limit coverage in exchange for reduced premiums. Basic policies offer limited medical payment (Personal Injury Protection-PIP) coverage with significantly higher deductibles. They also offer limited amounts of liability coverage and, more importantly, offer an option of no liability coverage whatsoever. A person carrying this type of coverage, assuming they have selected the no liability option, would have no insurance to cover a bodily injury claim.
Please be careful in selecting coverages for your automobile insurance. Saving a few dollars may cost thousands in the long run. Please call our office and we will gladly assist you with any questions you might have.